Is that Colonel Tigh at Home Depot?

June 16, 2008

If I had to choose a Scifi reality to live in, I think it would be Battlestar Galactica. I want to show up to work looking like crap. Seriously. Those guys over in Star Trek, Babylon 5, and even the supposedly rough-and-tumble Firefly look pretty darn good each time they show up on the bridge or in command and control. But not on the Galactica. Let’s take a look at everyone’s favorite character, Colonel Tigh:

 No, not that one, the other one…

Man, he looks like he’s been to hell and back, but he’s still there in command and control answering those bulky phones, “Galactica Actual”, and spinning up the FTL drive for 10 minutes at a time. Now, I work for a hi-tech company, so by the end of the week, I pretty much look like Saul. When I get to the scraggly beard stage, I want it Tigh style, not Riker style, you know? The Galactica is where I want to be. In the real world, there is one place, however, where I can go looking like utter crap and no one even bats an eye. It’s a place where guys can go and dream of being as devil-may-care as Saul Tigh. Thank the Lords of Kobol there is such a place because it seems I end up there almost every Saturday in my perpetual battle of home ownership: Home Depot. Maybe one day, I’ll even see the Colonel there.

One Response to “Is that Colonel Tigh at Home Depot?”

  1. Bobby Ewing said

    They have posted up a UHQ Ultra High Resolution panorama of the bridge scene over at the BS section here

    http://www.jlaforums.com/viewforum.php?f=329

    I am not so sure what it is supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

