No more monologuing, or I’ll Swiss-cheese you on principle.

August 14, 2008

OK, I’ll admit it. I’m hooked. But before we get to that, let me tell you why I like British comedies. The one thing I enjoy most about shows like Red Dwarf, Black Adder (yes, it is fantasy, just ask Nursey cow), and the Narnia episode of the Young Ones, is when the main characters freely spew metaphors like a bag of kittens in a lidless blender. I thought such was purely the modus operandi of our friends across the pond…but…enter the Middleman. Who knew Americans could spew too.

What is the Middleman? Think pulp, comics, b-movies, camp, scifi, spies, and superheroes all smashed into one like a McFlurry of Adam West Batman, The Ghost Busters (the 1970s version!), Get Smart, Bruce Campbell, Men in Black, and a lot of pop-culture Easter eggs, and you’ll get close. But don’t just take my word for it, let’s ask our old friend YouTube:

OK, I could do without the 20-something relationship angst, but if I let that keep me from watching, I’d miss the fairly entertaining dialog. I submit for your review:

“It may all seem like light and magic at first, but the next thing you know the walls are bleeding and you’ve got 25 pregnant women running around screaming ‘Mary! Mary! Mary!’ and clawing their eyes out with knitting needles while your own hair grows to three times its length and tries to strangle you.”

The names of the episodes alone should be enough to make you tune in:

The Pilot Episode Sanction
The Accidental Occidental Conception
The Sino-Mexican Revelation
The Manicoid Teleportation Conundrum
The Flying Fish Zombification
The Boyband Superfan Interrogation
The Cursed Tuba Contingency
The Ectoplasmic Panhellenic Investigation
The Obsolescent Cryogenic Meltdown

Sadly, there will be only 12 episodes because this is mid-season filler, so if you haven’t seen it, watch the last few episodes before ABC Family kills it forever.

Leave a Reply

