Fringe – Edgy or Recycled

September 10, 2008

When I was really young I remember seeing fringe in all the Saturday afternoon westerns and on Daniel Boone. Then it became fashionable and even cool. Sony and Cher had it. Roger Daltry wore it. CCR had it on an album cover. The longer and more of it, the better. Now that I am older fringe is once again becoming fashionable. Only this time it is techno-fringe.

I am not a J.J. Abrams fanboy and have to admit not a big “Lost” fan (in fact I could swear I heard the Fonz revving his motorcycle in last seasons finale) but I decided to give his new show “Fringe” a watch.

While watching the pilot episode I couldn’t help thinking what happens if you cross “The X Files” with “Night Stalker”, sprinkle in a bit of “Twin Peaks” (the cow) and “Twilight Zone” (airplane), and add a dash of “Altered States” (the “tank”). I think you would have “Fringe”

Every few years (decade?) we are treated to a new incarnation of the SciFi-Mystery-Horror genre on mainstream TV and of course I must watch. Kolchak: The Night Stalker and X-Files (and related shows: The Lone Gunmen and Millennium (now on the Chiller network)) being 2 of my favorite TV shows (although I don’t consider the last 2 seasons of the X-Files real X-Files).

This time around Abrams and company have started us on another conspiracy theory laced romp of SciFi, mystery, supernatural and horror in search of the “Pattern”. Future Fringe appears to be giving us a veritable smorgasbord of standard genre elements psychokinesis, bionics, transmogrification and teleportation with some twisted humor thrown in (the cow again :-)).

The production quality feels much like “Lost” and my wife even commented the music is eerily similar. To me it seemed that Scully and Mulder have already been down this path, however, I found myself watching the full 90 minutes and promising to withhold judgment for a couple more episodes.

Also, in typical Abrams fashion there are some websites you should check out: http://massivedynamic.com and http://www.glowingmonkeys.com . Both were part of the pilot episode. Massive Dynamics is the name of the “Spooky Big Business” that will be part of the series and glowingmonkeys appears as a sticker on a light post. And of course the producers have deposited “Easter Eggs” thoughout to keep us hooked and trying to solve the mystery ( http://eastereggs.fringetelevision.com to play along).

And now I remember why I am not a big “Lost” fan. With my short attention span for pop culture it is just tooooo tiring to keep up. I am sure that after a while I will get burned out of the over-exposure (4 episodes seems my max) and need to take a break. The good thing is when I choose to return I can always catch up on

2 Responses to “Fringe – Edgy or Recycled”

  1. izikavazo said

    The music is similar beacuse it’s the same “composer” (if you can call him that, he seems to specialize in very rough violin noises).
    And as for Lost jumping the shark at the end of season 4, the show purposefully jumped the shark in season 2 when they introduced the Dharma Iniative. Even the writers will admit that the show gave up being an ordinary drama a long time ago, it’s now a full blown sci-fi series.
    Sorry that you don’t like it. And I wouldn’t worry about Fringe being around for too long, it’s on FOX and it got only mediocre ratings, it should last almost one season.
    – izi

  2. brosking said

    Finally caught the pilot online. The twist and last ten minutes at the end were good. The rest of it, if you think Lost is hokey, that was double hokey! Srtip to your underware, get an electrode in the head, take LSD, be half submerged in liquid? I was waiting for her to say “Jump!”.

Leave a Reply

